Rights. The statute revision commission consisting of a chairman and two other members, all justice department employees, revises and consolidates federal statutes and regulations.

Policy planning. This section is responsible for identifying emerging issues and developing policy initiatives in response. It analyzes and assesses recommendations of the Law Reform Commission of Canada and ensures consultation with those who are likely to be affected by a change in legislation.

Programs and law information development. This section is responsible for developing and implementing law-related programs of the department.

Property and commercial law. This branch is responsible for non-litigous legal work relating to land and the acquisition of land throughout Canada, except in Quebec, by purchase and expropriation. It also works on cases involving the disposition of land by Letters Patent. It also deals with all commercial law matters involving the federal government.

Police forces

Organization of police forces

The police forces of Canada are organized in three groups: (1) the federal force, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP); (2) provincial police forces — Ontario and Quebec have their own police forces; the RCMP performs parallel functions in all other provinces; and (3) municipal police forces — most urban centres have their own police forces or provincial police, under contract, to attend to police matters. In addition, the Canadian National Railways, the Canadian Pacific Railway Co. and the National Harbours Board have their own police forces.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police. This is a civil force maintained by the federal government. It was established in 1873 as the North-West Mounted Police for service in what was then the North-West Territories and, in recognition of its services, was granted the prefix "Royal" by King Edward VII in 1904. Its sphere of operations was expanded in 1918 to include all of Canada west of Port Arthur and Fort William (now Thunder Bay). In 1920 it absorbed the Dominion Police, its headquarters was transferred from Regina to Ottawa and its title changed to Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The force operates under authority of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act (RSC 1970, c.R-9). It is responsible to the solicitor general and is controlled and managed by a commissioner who holds the rank and status of a deputy minister and is empowered to appoint members to be peace officers in all provinces and territories.

Administration of justice within the provinces, including enforcement of the Criminal Code of Canada, is part of the power and duty delegated to the provincial governments. All provinces except Ontario and Quebec have entered into contracts with the RCMP to enforce criminal and provincial laws, under direction of the respective attorneys general. In these eight provinces, the force is under agreement to provide police services to 195 municipalities, assuming enforcement responsibility of municipal as well as criminal and provincial laws within these communities. Yukon and Northwest Territories are policed exclusively by the RCMP and therefore criminal offences, federal statutes and all ordinances of the territories fall within their responsibility. The force maintains liaison officers in London, Paris, Bonn, Rome, Hong Kong, Washington, Sydney, Vienna, Buenos Aires, Brussels, Santiago, Bogota, New Delhi, Abidjan, Tel Aviv, Kingston, Tokyo, Nairobi, Beirut, Mexico City, The Hague, Lima, Manila, Stockholm, Berne, Bangkok, Port of Spain, and represents Canada in the International Criminal Police Organization, which has headquarters in Paris.

The force has 13 operational divisions across Canada; they comprise two districts and 41 subdivisions which include 726 detachments. Headquarters division, as well as the office of the commissioner, is in Ottawa. Divisional headquarters, for the most part, are located in the provincial or territorial capitals.

2.7

2.7.1